My Least Favourite Trends

Okay, okay, I’m going to be upfront about how much bitching will happen in this post. A lot. A lot of bitching. There! You have been warned.

Trends are everywhere, that we can all agree on now. Food trends, home decor trends, fashion trends, economic trends *as I shutter at the thought of school in September* …and the list goes on. I just wanted to take a quick minute to point out some of the trends that I find lame. I find them really lame. Now I know everyone will be like: “But Ceilidh! *Insert trend here* is great! What’s your problem?” and I’ll be the first to admit that everyone has the right to enjoy what they enjoy without being hassled by other people. But that is not going to stop me from having opinions about them and the trends they choose to follow. So, without further delay, here are the four recent trends I personally resent for being stupid.

 

1. Pineapples

“I fucking hate pineapple” -Ceilidh Nora (every day for the past 3 years)

And no, I’m talking talking about when they are used in salads or on tacos (or even on pizza). Oh no no no! I hate them hung up on walls, I hate them on T-Shirts, I hate them on necklaces; I just thoroughly hate pineapples with every square inch of my being. I can not for the life of me understand why people find them aesthetically pleasing enough to wear on their body or to decorate their homes with. Not to mention, I distinctly remember this being an Aeropostale trend when I was in grade 8. Why are we bringing back this devil fruit from it’s trendy grave? WHY?!?!

**Disclaimer, I may or may not be biased against this fruit because of an allergy I may or may not have to it, hence my feeling mocked by the abundance of pineapples everywhere around me**

 

2. Socks with Sporty Slip-On Sandals

I’m not even commenting on this because I was hoping it would die out years ago and it hasn’t. Stop wearing socks with your Adidas/Nike/Idontknowanyothersportscompanies sandals. It causes me more physical pain than the feeling I get in my throat after eating pineapple (which, as aforementioned, I’m allergic to).

 

3. Joining Every Pyramid-Scheme Company that Promises you $10000 and Making your Friends Feel Guilty for not Buying Anything

Look, I get it. We all want an easy way to make thousands of dollars a month from the comfort of your own home. I know that I do! But you need to stop buying into the idea that repping for Arbonne, Avon, Younique, Jamberry, Detox, whatever-the-fuck company is going to make you a millionaire. Even more than that… you need to stop posting 55 goddamn posts a day trying to get your friends to buy your stuff, or join under you themselves. To be honest with you guys, it’s getting irritating for those of us who like to frequent Facebook for drama and comment lurking. I know what you sell, I know how to contact you. Please stop posting the same video of a miracle foundation that covers up a shitty $5 butterfly wrist tattoo. Odds are that I’ve already seen it from one of the other 50 Facebook friends I have that sell the same stuff you do. I’ll stick to my Nars thank you very much.

 

4. Sharing Instagram Promotions of People Using Activated Charcoal Masks

This one isn’t even really a trend, as the trend itself is the actual black charcoal mask. But goodness gracious friends, if you are that interested in the product just go freaking buy it! Why do you keep sharing the video of other people using it? Why are you advertising for a product you haven’t even tried for a company that you don’t even know? It doesn’t make sense! I’m tired of seeing little pores getting unclogged every time I open my phone! GAHH!

 

 

Well, that’s all I have to say for now. What do you guys think? Are there any popular trends you dislike? Let me know!

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “My Least Favourite Trends

Leave a Reply

